Ghostbusters (2016) Review 

     Fuck, this is going to be one controversial review. It really shouldn’t be. Why does it need to be? It’s just a movie, after all. The funny thing is, the most controversial thing that should come out of this version of Ghostbusters isn’t the fact that it has an all star female cast. 

     Its the fact that a reboot this day and age can be fantastic, and even badass. 

     Erin Gilbert (Kristen Wiig) is about to receive tenure at her University, when a book on the paranormal written by her and former partner Abby Yates (Melissa McCarthy) threatens to thwart those plans. Upon arriving at her lab she meets Dr. Jillian Holtzmann (Kate McKinnon), and the three go on an investigation that gains them recognition. Thanks to client, then fellow Ghostbuster Patty Tolan (Leslie Jones), they begin to uncover a catastrophic plan to end the world.

     I know I’m probably the lone voice in this, but I fucking loved the movie and there’s no way of convincing the nay sayers otherwise. I kept hearing the movie wasn’t funny, but tis filled with hilarity. I heard that (insert actress name here) wasn’t funny, yet all of the main stars had many moments to shine. 
     Oh shit, and the supporting cast killed it in this flick. Especially the Mayor  (even though I’m sure no one is gonna see the movie, I can’t spoil who plays him). The cameos from the original cast were silly, and not too distracting. But Chris Hemsworth as Kevin the secretary just rocks the shit. I’ve never seen this guy be funnier, especially with his glasses. 

     Yes, this movie is a reboot and as far as reboots go, it’s pretty damn great. I didn’t expect to be moved once the origin of the Ghostbusters logo was shown. And holy shit the climatic battle of the flick, in a faithfully recreated 1970s New York was just jaw droppingly beautiful to look at. I felt such a surge of energy when Holtzmann (she’s my spirit animal) started punching the shit out of the ghosts  (I feel the need to clarify that she has proton gloves that she made). I don’t even remember the last time I felt such a cheerful thrill during a movie. 

     I know people on the internet are screaming that this flick ruined their childhood, but come on man. I have a preference towards horror flicks, and if you want to see skillful masterpieces being gutted and dumbed the fuck down watch any of the following:

Psycho (1998)

Texas Chainsaw Massacre  (2003)

Black Christmas (2006)

A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)

     I have seen shit remakes. God damn it I’ve seen remakes that shook my faith in cinema, but Ghostbusters ain’t that flick. Let me tell you guys some fucking truth: There was never going to be a Ghostbusters 3. I was shocked that people thought there was an actual fucking chance. 

     What I wanted out out this flick was something new done with the Ghostbusters property, and yeah I got what I wanted. I had such a great time, and it breaks my fucking heart that most people will stubbornly never see it. 

Leave a Reply

