The Jungle Book Review

image

     This is what I’ve wanted Disney to do the whole time. I was getting fed up with this “revisionist” shit that most studios do with their fairy tale properties. This is basically what I wanted; a live action remake of the cartoon, because you can do that now. The crazy fucking thing is that this movie actually works. 
     I think we all know the story of the man cub Mowgli (Neel Sethi) who must journey to the man village because Shere Khan (Idris Elba) is going to murder his ass. So, Bagheera (Ben Kingsley) joins Mowgli and along the way meets Baloo (Bill Murray), where the man cub has to stop running and face his future.
     I’m fucking astonished that this movie worked. I mean on an emotional level, which on the other hand means that the visual effects even worked. It’s like a crazy balance that could have been fucked up royally. I believed that the animals were real, even when they were doing extraordinary things.
     The voice acting was so on point across the board. Scarlett Johansson as Kaa had this menacing seduction that gave the scene a whole new meaning. It was frightening. And I shit you not, you haven’t lived life until you hear Christopher Walken as King Louis singing I Wanna Be Like You. I never realized how complete my life would be after seeing that.
     Bravo to director Jon Favreau for pulling off the impossible. An actual adaptation that made me feel. Not hatred, but genuine joy that did make me think of the original Disney cartoon, and I wasn’t pissed off. The two versions coexist beautifully together, and that shows that Favreau is a master of his craft. Easily, one of the best movies of the year.

    

One thought on “The Jungle Book Review

Leave a Reply

